Putting FiveM behind a proxy

So, I’ve been a system admin for a server for a while now and we’ve recently had a few DDoS attacks.

To combat this, I thought of having a few smaller servers to act as gateways to the FiveM server. This all works fine, I can get the “players.json” file and everything fine but, when I try and connect to the server with the client it fails (tries three times then gives up).

So, I was wondering if there’s something I need to do extra to get this to work. Currently I have the setup:
Proxy Server 1 -> FiveM Server (TCP 30120) - With Nginx
Proxy Server 1 -> FiveM Server (UDP 30120) - With a python script

When looking at the NGINX logs for the TCP connections, It looks like it’s working (it’s sending a POST request to /client):

and the python script shows that the UDP packets are being sent through:

Move to Dedicated Game Server at OVH and DDoS wont hit you.

I’m already with OVH and I feel like they can’t do any protection for FiveM with it being so heavy on the badwidth. So, they can’t distinguish the real traffic from the fake traffic.

2 Likes

Do you use OVH Game Dedicated Server? They protect better than normal servers

Yeah but there’s no need for a dedibox for FiveM, it’s super overkill.

3 Likes

Yea, no. That’s way too much power for a simple FiveM server. I don’t want to do that at all.

Still looking for solutions if anyone has an idea.

3 Likes

Hello,

With this simple Nginx config, all pass.
Ressources downloaded correctly, but when it’s time to connect, it’s impossible

stream {
    server {
        listen 30120;
        proxy_pass ServerIP:30120;
    }

server {
        listen 30120 udp;
        proxy_pass ServerIP:30120;
    }
}

I think it’s when you initialize the socket that it does not work.
The idea is good because it would make it possible to define complex filtering rules.

If official developers have answers to our questions, it would be cool, even if in the idea, it weighs down the process.