[Release] Car spawning via chat commands

Hi, I am trying to write a simple script to spawn cars without trainer, using /spawn xxx in chat. I am pretty new to Lua so be gentle.

I think I have working server side script to capture the desired car name from chat. I also have client script that can spawn cars if the model hash is known.

My question: how do I share or send the string from the server that has the desired vehiclename to the client where the car is spawned? Or is this the wrong way to go?

1 Like

Thereā€™s a good example how to do commands and networking here

But networking on the server is essentially TriggerClientEvent(Event,ClientId,...)
    If ClientId is -1 itā€™s broadcasted to all players
    ... Is a vararg meaning you can have any amount of arguments
Clientside is a bit more annnoying as you also have to register it with RegisterNetEvent(Event)
After that you just add a normal event handler AddEventHandler(Event,function(...) end

In the end you should have something like this

-- Server
AddEventHandler("chatMessage",function(Source,Name,Msg)
	if Msg:sub(1,6) == "/spawn" then
		TriggerClientEvent("Event",Source,Msg:sub(5))
		CancelEvent()
	end
end)
-- Client
RegisterNetEvent("Event")
AddEventHandler("Event",function(Vehicle)
	-- Code
end
1 Like

Thanks to you I solved this problem. Thank you so much! I hope threads like this help others who use the search here.

Itā€™s hard to learn the ropes. Reading up on Lua helps, as does studying the natives and looking at other scripts. But sometimes you are still left with a gap, trying to figure out what native does or what the parameters mean, etc.

1 Like

Is there anyway you could upload the script you got working? I canā€™t seem to figure it out, unfortunately.

Thanks,
Caesar

make a new folder, call it whatever you want, then just copy the lines into a new file named ā€œsv_spawn.luaā€ then paste, create a new file name it resources, in there add