[How-To] Use NUI (UI Creation with HTML)

Hey guys,
because some of you guys have got some questions like: “I want to create an UI in Game to create a cool Login or whatever”, I decide to spend some time for you to write this Tutorial.
I’m not an English person so be gentle if I do some grammar mistakes :wink:

!!!IMPORTEND!!!
This Tutorial is not for ppl who did not know what is scripting or for absolute beginners, because I’m not going into every detail!
So you need exp. in the following:

• LUA
  • HTML
  • CSS
  • Javascript (or better jQuery)
  • a lot JSON EXP is also good :slight_smile:

Copyright
This Tutorial is based on @Eraknelo 's “UI with mouse input” (http://forum.fivereborn.com/topic/795/ui-with-mouse-input) every coding copyright is on his own!

Theoretical Stuff
The first thing you got to know is how the Native User Interface (NUI) works.
There is ALLWAYS! a simple communication between a client script and your UI, but what is the UI?
It is simple, very effective and it comes with a lot of functions!
I’m talking about HTML, CSS and and the powerful jQuery Lib (Javascript).

So basically the communication goes every time like this:

1. Client Call a function to trigger UI functionality
  2. Client send via NUI an array of data (JSON) to a javascript
  3. Your Javascript file triggers a function which is triggered by your Clientscript (1. ; 2.)
  4. Your Javascript file send back a JSON array to your script
  5. (Optional) Your Client File now triggers a callback function and do what it has to do (maybe to handle Login Data, Register a Player, …)

Simple right?

Now let get started in detail

Check out the full files on GitHub :)

1.) Create your HTML File, JavaScript File and your CSS File
visit GitHub Repro for an Example

2.) Setup your __resource.lua

client_script('client/client.lua') --your NUI Lua File

ui_page('client/html/index.html') --THIS IS IMPORTENT