How to add mods to a FiveM Server

Hello,
I am new to this stuff and want to do some rollplay with a friend of mine.
I just need some simple stuff in my server. (Some kind of Trainer to spawn stuff, Maby a map editor to place props and objects, and a skin changer to make custom skins like in GTA V Online.)
I tried adding some of those things to my server (Hosted on my PC) but didn’t come far. I have the server running fine. But non of the ‘plugins’ load. I probably didn’t install then the right way.

In my client I have the .asi files located here: FiveM\FiveM Application Data\plugins
In the server I tried making a plugins folder: FiveMServer\plugins
But I don’t think I got that right.

Is there a nice tutorial or some good text documentation?

Thanks for reading.

7 Likes

Hi @ElectroGamez,

This can definitely be a challenge for new Hosts for 5m and we’ve all been there. This is the video I used to setup my server. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHknSft7HlE

Adding Mods to the server will require a few things:

1. Finding the Mods, Scripts, and Add-ins you desire to put into your server
  2. Adding these objects into the “RESOURCES” folder in the 5M server files
  3. Activating the resource in the “citmp-server.yml” file in the top level of cfx-server/
  4. ALWAYS delete your cache folder under cfx-server/ when adding or removing resources

There’s a lot of info out there on how to configure your server and add things, but you’re going to have to put in the time researching to achieve what you desire. I spent over 20 hours researching before actually installing and taking a stab at setting the server up.

WORDS OF ADVICE

• Before adding in resources or editing files in the server, create a complete copy and save it somewhere like DropBox
  • When activating resources in the “citmp-server-yml” never use [Tab], instead ALWAYS use [SpaceBar].